20141030-111131.jpg

Hello!

It has been some time, hasn’t it? But now I’m back and I can finally wish you a Happy New Year! I hope the first two weeks of 2015 have been wonderful to you.

So let’s talk new year’s resolutions, because that’s all everyone is talking about this month. I want to know what everyone’s been giving up or what changes you’re trying to make to the way you live your life this year. Or are you boycotting the whole thing altogether?

I don’t usually set myself resolutions for the new year, but last year I inadvertently gave up smoking, and I can happily say it’s been a total blast breathing much more easily over the last 379 days. This year however, I made a conscious decision to add a few life goals to my list this year:

  • I will take my Italian to the next level and become fluent
  • I will have more self-confidence, tell my inner critic to sta zitta and take on new projects outside of work
  • I will eat well, consistently and be as eco-friendly as possible
  • I will listen more and talk about myself less
  • I will appreciate what I have right now instead of yearning for what I could have

and;

  • I will make this miso-tahini soup once a week for the rest of my life AMEN

Ginger Miso Tahini Soup

Serves 4

500g medium squash, either butternut or coquina, cut into smallish pieces
1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil
Juice of half a navel orange
3 tablespoons miso paste
50g tahini
1 inch of ginger, peeled and minced
300-400g cooked brown rice
2 ripe avocados
Black sesame seeds


Arrange the squash pieces on a baking tray and drizzle with 1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil and the juice of half an orange. Roast in the centre of the oven at 220Β°c (200Β°c Fan) for 45 minutes.

Add the miso paste to a bowl and add a couple of tablespoons of boiled water to loosen. In a large saucepan add the tahini, minced ginger and 500ml water and bring to the boil. Add the miso paste and reduce to a simmer for 5 minutes. Season to taste.

To serve, distribute the brown rice evenly into four bowls and top with roasted squash. Pour over the miso-tahini broth, top with half a sliced avocado and sprinkle with black sesame seeds.

14 thoughts on “Ginger Miso Tahini Soup

  1. I would love to make this. Sounds and looks delicious πŸ™‚

  2. angelzhng says:

    This looks unreal ! thanks for the recipe !

    xx Angel
    http://www.speakoftheangel.com

  3. stateeats says:

    I don’t make resolutions but I like that yours is a prayer. Makes it much more meditative and hopeful – Kat

  4. Beautiful food, beautiful photography, and beautiful goals for 2015. Inspiring.

    1. Gabriella says:

      Thank you! Such lovely comments πŸ™‚

    1. Gabriella says:

      Hello! Thanks for stopping by. Nice blog πŸ™‚

  5. lululunchbox says:

    Your photos look really nice! I will definitely try this recipe! Thks! Lulu

  6. This looks amazing, the photos along with the food you post are absolutely amazing!

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

The Festivist

... because the world is a place worth celebrating

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegetarian and vegan food & photography from a small Berlin home and beyond

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

