Flourless Chocolate Pots with Earl Grey Cream | Thyme & Honey

As if the weather Gods had heard my silent pleas for winter, it rocked up all bold and cold over the weekend. It’s officially sweater weather and to celebrate this momentous occasion I’m wearing the fluffiest jumper I own and plotting my first PSL of the season, all while scrolling through Halloween decorating ideas on Pinterest.

I’m also getting ready for an even colder climate, because this weekend I’m flying to Toronto for my annual poutine fix cousin’s wedding where I’ll be one of her bridesmaids and official joker – ah, the good ol’ English accent… gets ’em every time.

Also can I just say how giddy with excitement I am about experiencing my first Thanksgiving on Canadian soil? So giddy.

Flourless Chocolate Pots with Earl Grey Cream | Thyme & Honey

In other news I baked these little pots of indulgence over the weekend, and let me tell you, they are G O O D. No – better than good, they are fantastic. Why? Because they are fudgey, sweet but not too sweet, and look impressive when they emerge from the oven grandiose and soufflé-like. Plus they’re flourless, take minimal time to make, and that Earl Grey cream? Decadence just got the British treatment. We so fancy.

I’ve got to be honest though, up until a couple of months ago I wouldn’t have dreamed of drinking black tea let alone putting it in cream, but then I was introduced to the world of JING and all of their wonderful teas, and I’ve been drinking it ever since.

Flourless Chocolate Pots with Earl Grey Cream | Thyme & Honey

Flourless Chocolate Pots with Earl Grey Cream | Thyme & Honey

Flourless Chocolate Pots with Earl Grey Cream | Thyme & Honey

Flourless Chocolate Pots with Earl Grey Cream | Thyme & Honey

Flourless Chocolate Pots with Earl Grey Cream | Thyme & Honey

Flourless Chocolate Pots with Earl Grey Cream

Makes 4 chocolate pots

For the chocolate pots:

200g dark chocolate
60g unsalted butter
4 eggs
50g caster sugar (plus 2 tablespoons)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla bean paste or extract

For the Earl Grey cream:

1 tablespoon JING loose leaf Earl Grey
120ml whipping cream


Preheat oven to 180°c (160°c Fan) and butter 4 deep ramekins.

Roughly chop the chocolate and place it in a bowl with the butter over a pan of simmering water (making sure the bottom of the bowl isn’t touching the water). Heat gently until melted then set aside.

Separate the eggs into two bowls. Start with the yolks; add 50g of sugar and the vanilla extract and whisk until pale and fluffy – a few minutes.

Add 2 tablespoons of sugar to the whites and whisk until soft peaks have formed.

Add the yolks to the chocolate and mix to combine, then fold in the whites in two or three batches.

Pour the mix into your prepared ramekins and bake in the centre of the oven for 20 minutes.

While the chocolate pots are baking make the Earl Grey cream. Add the loose leaves to the cream and heat on low until the cream is hot but not scalding. Pour the cream into a bowl and refrigerate for 10-15 minutes.

Pass the infused cream through a sieve to remove the leaves, then beat until lightly whipped.

Serve the chocolate pots hot out of the oven with a dollop of cream.

Recipe adapted from The Artful Desperado – Flourless Dark Chocolate Souffle with Earl Grey Cream

31 thoughts on “Flourless Chocolate Pots + Earl Grey Cream

  1. Gosh these look incredible! I’m especially intrigued by the earl grey cream… Hope you have a fantastic trip!

  2. charlynnrick says:

    Earl Grey and chocolate is a magical combination

  3. brigittebeckenbauer says:

    Reblogged this on homog and commented:
    yummy

  4. Those pots look so delicious!! Thanks!

  5. Loretta says:

    How absolutely delicious these look, I want to reach out and grab! How odd too, that I will be attending a wedding inToronto this weekend, and will be there over Canadian Thanksgiving weekend. I wonder if it might be the same wedding? :). I used to live in Canada, but when I moved to the States, I realized what a huge deal Thanksgiving really is over here, it is grander than Christmas. I hope you have a wonderful time, pack your woolies 🙂

  6. thefolia says:

    I love early grey this sounds divine..thanks for the idea. Enjoy Thanksgiving in Canada.

  7. I am filling up entire moleskins with recipes of yours that I want to try. This looks amazing!! Good work!

  8. Love the sound of the Earl Grey cream. Shall be trying that. And have a great trip! I’ve only ever been to Thanksgiving in Houston once before, so I can understand your excitement.

  9. Maggie says:

    Ma, this sounds really good! Have you ever tried Gizzi Erskine’s Earl Grey chocolate cake? It’s heaven! I love black tea but I never would have thought of using it with chocolate! I’m not much of a baker but I’ve actually made that cake 2 times. I definitely want to try this but need to get some of my baking frriends involved!

  10. This recipe looks delightful. I can’t wait to try it!

  11. Wow, I’ve got to try this, especially that earl grey cream! Lovely photography also!

  12. sallybean45 says:

    Those little flecks of purple in the tea are quite pretty – was the infusion as strong and wonderful as the smell?

    You realise I need these in my life? Hint hint.

    xxx

  13. hannahysabel says:

    Flourless chocolate cake is my all-time favorite dessert and earl grey is my favorite tea. This looks so delicious! I need to make this!

  14. They look just wow – fantastic photos also 🙂

  15. Looks fantastic and perfect with earl grey cream (I love infusing cream!)

  16. Hey! I love this recipe and I am mad about your blog! Great pics and great writing! def one of my top fav blogs 😀

  17. messyeffe says:

    Hi! I have nominated your blog for the Liebster awards! Check it out! http://obsessedorhotmess.wordpress.com/2014/10/10/the-liebster-award/

  18. I’m such a fan of this recipe. Can’t wait to try it out! http://www.kjerstinbjerga.com

  19. laurasmess says:

    What a beautiful recipe… this looks amazing Gabriella! I am a big fan of earl grey and chocolate together (ever since I read a recipe for a tart in Matt Moran’s book) and these gooey chocolate pots take it to the next level. I will definitely make these! Thanks x

  20. stateeats says:

    Sign me up and sit me down — these look AMAZINGLY GOOD!! Can’t wait to try! – Kat

  21. I am so pleased I stumbled across your page!! Chocolate is my one true love, and this is so great it doesn’t have flour in it (gluten free yay) – cannot wait to try this, maybe even variate it slightly on the sugar and butter front for a healthier option!

  22. noraghilmore says:

    Hi,
    I love your blog and I nominated you for Liebster award. If you accepte my nomination, I look forward to seeing your answers! 🙂 NG
    http://juliannesarahtoma.wordpress.com/2014/10/16/liebster-award/

  23. Hi, I just wanted to tell you that I think your blog is beautiful. this recipe looks great, will have to try it this coming weekend. Cheers, Nancy (Stonecrop Sister).

  24. deliciouscityliving says:

    I really want to try this recipe. Thanks for posting!

  25. eloethen0718 says:

    Wow looks good!

  26. Your blog is just divine!

  27. Your pictures are lovely! also this recipe looks delicious. I was actually experimenting with Earl Grey last month here: http://friedgreenkimchi.com/2014/10/13/lets-have-a-tea-party/ but I love the idea of adding it with chocolate. I can’t wait to try this recipe out. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  28. afton528 says:

    Wow, these look decadent. Thank you so much for sharing!

  29. ladyeeee says:

    Reblogged this on ladyeeee and commented:
    this looks amazing :0 and yes I can’t remember if i mentioned but i am in a long term relationship with baking and food ❤

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

The Festivist

by Hannah Serena Goldstein

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegetarian and vegan food & photography from a tiny Berlin kitchen and beyond

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

