20140912-102821.jpg

After four months of patiently waiting, last weekend we moved into our home. We didn’t waste a second, moving in all of our worldly belongings while the last of the building work was being finished. The carpets were being laid as we navigated our boxes through to their allocated rooms.

I went straight for the kitchen, our new kitchen, and my first. When I say my first kitchen I mean the first kitchen that is really mine. There is space for all of my things, even the Kitchen Aid that Mr Swiss bought me a couple of Christmases ago. That my friends is what I call luxury, and one that I am so happy to have. HASHTAGBLESSED.

As you can imagine I’ve been home a fair bit, sorting things out and awaiting deliveries, which means that I’ve subsequently gotten to spend some time in my new favourite place, and cook little lunches for one. This griddled corn salsa has got everything I need in a meal. It’s delicious, simple, quick to throw together and healthy. Team this with a slice of toast and some green leaves and you’ve got yourself something real special.

Have a great weekend everyone!

corn-set

20140912-102744.jpg

20140912-102751.jpg

20140912-102804.jpg

Griddled Corn Salsa

Serves one

1 ear of corn, husk removed and kernels cut off
1 half of a perfectly ripe avocado, diced
2 medium tomatoes, diced
Bunch of fresh parsley, or coriander
Juice of half a lime
Olive oil


Heat a griddle pan and add the corn kernels. Cook for around 5 minutes or so until the corn just begins to brown and smells a little like popcorn.

Add the corn to the diced tomatoes and avocado, and stir in the chopped herbs. Season well and add the lime juice and a splash of olive oil.

Great on its own, on toast or bulked out with a salad.

11 thoughts on “Griddled Corn Salsa (for one)

  1. Looks delicious. And your kitchen looks great too!

  2. amanda says:

    I’m jealous of any kitchen with gas burners…but it looks beautiful! congrats on the new place

  3. gemdavies says:

    Looks delicious! I always struggle to cook healthily for one (I always make waaay too much!) so I’m so glad you posted this!

    Enjoy your new kitchen! x

    http://www.lifeisagem.wordpress.com

  4. Looks delicious – so jealous of your new kitchen too!!! Sounds amazing!!

  5. Lovely new kitchen…..heart of the home! Enjoy!

  6. sallybean45 says:

    I had a pretty corny weekend myself after cleaning my kitchen top to bottom and falling in love with it again- nothing better than a fresh ear of corn. Sad to say though, I totally destroyed my 44-year old Le Creuset. HEARTBROKEN. Word up, DON’T use your best pan to cook chicken, walnut and pomegranate stew.

    1. Gabriella says:

      Oh no! I’m sorry to hear about your Le Creuset 😦 sad times indeed x

  7. trixpin says:

    What a tasty sounding dish and lovely colours in the photos – I’m also admiring your butter dish in the background! It compliments the corn perfectly 😉

  8. yum! looks so good. lovely photos 🙂

  9. rubystemple says:

    Your blog is BEAUTIFUL! Stunning photos to match stunning recipes. I have nominated you for a Liebster award – check my latest post for details 🙂

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

The Festivist

by Hannah Serena Goldstein

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegetarian and vegan food & photography from a tiny Berlin kitchen and beyond

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

