20140909-165016.jpg

A couple of weeks ago this blog turned 2, I can hardly believe it! I originally created this space in order to keep a record of my kitchen happenings and as an online recipe book of sorts, but I had never really thought that 2 years on there would be anyone reading it let alone cooking my recipes and being just generally wonderful (I’m looking at all of you guys who take the time to comment nice things). The beginning was painfully slow, but in the past 8 months I’ve been Freshly Pressed twice, reached 3,000 followers and found my voice and style. I love this blog even though it’s a constant work in progress, and I hope you do too.

Despite my occasional rants about commuting, the weather and buying a house, I haven’t given much away about who I am aside from what you can read in the about section. So what better excuse than a birthday is there to tell you a few random things about myself (and give you a killer recipe for a delightful olive oil cake scented with orange and smothered with full-fat cream cheese frosting)?

1. Always mayonnaise over ketchup.

2. Seven years ago I broke my left elbow and now have 2 metal rods and some wiring holding it in place. Sadly I don’t beep through security.

3. I listen to classical music when I drive and jazz when I commute.

4. I hate fresh ginger. There, I said it.

5. I can be a bit of a know it all.

6. Ice cream is my vice.

7. I am a movie fanatic, but I don’t like blockbusters.

8. I have two brothers who are so different yet equally wonderful, and I can’t live without them.

9. My favourite feeling is nostalgia.

10. I love everything about the Nordic countries, especially their appreciation of personal space.

BONUS: favourite song right now

Maialino’s Olive Oil Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Makes one 3-tired mini cake, or one single 9″ cake

For the olive oil cake:

240g all-purpose flour
250g caster sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
250ml extra virgin olive oil
300ml whole milk
3 large eggs
2 tablespoons orange zest
120ml orange juice

For the cream cheese frosting:

120g cream cheese, cold
50g unsalted butter, room temp
250g icing sugar, sifted


Preheat oven toΒ 180Β°c (160Β°c fan) and prepare a 9″ cake tin at least 3 inches in height with parchment paper.

Whisk together the dry ingredients in one bowl. In anther bowl whisk together the wet ingredients and then mix the dry ingredients into that. Pour into a prepared cake tin and bake for 1 hour or until golden and a skewer comes out clean (mine was done at 1hr15m).

Leave to cool for 30 mins in the tin then carefully remove and leave to cool entirely, around 2 hours.

Meanwhile make the frosting. Beat icing sugar and butter until crumb-like, then add the cream cheese in one go and beat until smooth.

To assemble the mini cake, cut out 1 4″ circle, one 3″ and one 2″.

Crumb coat each tier and refrigerate for 10-15 mins. Then add a second coat of thick frosting. The cakes are so small there’s no need to place any dowels between layers, simply place each on top.

If you’re going to keep the cake as a 9″ just ice as above and enjoy!

Recipe slightly adapted from Maialino’s Olive Oil Cake on Food52

23 thoughts on “Maialino’s Olive Oil Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Caroline S. says:

    Happy Blog birthday! This sounds like the perfect cake for my mom, and from what I have tried from your recipes (most recently the funfetti cake) have always turned out great. Thanks for the delicious recipes, and you have a great writing style to boot.

    1. Gabriella says:

      Hi Caroline,

      I am so pleased that you made the funfetti cake! I absolutely love that one, and it’s perfect for birthdays too. Thank you for reading and for your lovely words πŸ™‚ x

  2. amanda says:

    Gorgeous cake and happy second blog birthday!

  3. bangsulaiman007 says:

    yes ok i like

  4. vicawhite says:

    What a beautiful blog. Your photography is gorgeous.

    1. Gabriella says:

      Thank you, that’s so lovely to hear! x

  5. Congratulations on reaching two years! I’m new to the blog but am really enjoying reading. This cake sounds totally delicious. And yes, always mayonnaise over ketchup.

  6. rachez says:

    I loved reading this article. It’s quite inspiring as someone who’s just starting out in this blogging world to see someone who has reached so many followers and has grown so much in 2 years! Congrats and thanks for sharing your story and this awesome recipe πŸ™‚ You sound awesome btw I feel like we’d be great friends ❀

    1. Gabriella says:

      Hi Rachel,

      Good luck with your blog! I’d love to see it sometime. It’s really great to connect with other bloggers, and I’m glad you’ve stumbled upon T&H! :)) Hope to see you in the blogisphere more!

  7. I made this cake it and it was indeed delicoius. However, I had to increase the flour by one additional cup. I honestly don’t think it would have set up properly with only one cups worth.

    1. Gabriella says:

      Hi Leslie,

      Did you use the original Maialino recipe or the one I’ve written here? The first time I made it I followed their recipe to the letter, and it just would not cook! It was incredibly moist, and although tasty it wasn’t right. In the recipe I’ve put here I’ve decreased the amount of olive oil, and when converting US cups to metric I go by the rule that 1 US cup = 120g. I think had I not decreased the amount of oil I would have added more flour, too!

      1. I began using the one written here originally but when I noticed something seemed off with the batter I found another site with Maialino’s recipe. I thought 120g is 1/2 cup, which I found by using a conversion website tool. Either way, I adjusted it and it is a lovely cake. I made to a ricotta-cream cheese frosting that made for an excellent pairing. I’ll be giving it to my fiance as his birthday cake πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing this recipe, it’s now in my recipe keeper!

  8. misstikiwak says:

    I love everything Nordic, too, so much so that I had a Swedish exchange student for a year. The recipe sounds great. . .I bookmarked the original only because I am afraid of grams and milliliters. Congrats on your success!

    1. Gabriella says:

      You sound like a kindred spirit! The original recipe is great, although I did reduce the amount of olive oil and sugar in the recipe here πŸ™‚ happy baking!

  9. Oh man, this looks delicious. Nice to find out a little about you too πŸ™‚

  10. Bonnie Eng says:

    So elegant, what a great idea for a cake! πŸ™‚

    1. Gabriella says:

      I love that it’s miniature too – although still way too much for a single person πŸ˜‰

  11. Congrats on your “birthday”! Time sure flies when you do something you love. Keep up the good work.

  12. laurasmess says:

    This is awesome. YES! I hate fresh ginger too… I always get quite upset when it ends up in my juice, I can’t drink it (my partner thinks I’m overreacting but… it dominates everything!). I’ve had a renewed love of mayo since we started travelling in the UK. It’s everywhere, but when it’s fresh and homemade I do admit it’s quite delicious πŸ™‚ As for these olive oil cakes? Heavenly. Congrats on your blogiversary, two years is an awesome milestone! You have a beautiful space here xx

  13. sabine says:

    I love your favorite feeling statement, very touching. A very belated happy birthday to you(r blog)- the olive oil cake makes a beautiful birthday treat!

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

Well Placed

journeys to the world's most spectacular destinations

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegan & vegetarian food and photography from urban nature and a small Berlin studio

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

