Linguine with Kale Pesto | Thyme & Honey

Linguine with Kale Pesto | Thyme & Honey

I’ve been making a mental list of things that I want to start doing when we move into our first home. On this list there are projects and purchases, little gestures that I truly believe will make our lives that bit more beautiful. I imagine us becoming less reliant on supermarkets for our fruit and vegetables, instead taking the time each week to visit our local farmer’s market, butcher and fish monger. I see myself hand-selecting flowers and having an array of pretty vases to showcase them in. I picture us making our own nut butters, almond milk and ice cream. There are other small things that I’d like to have too, like fresh orange juice daily, artisan bread (made by myself if I’m feeling particularly adventurous), interesting magazines and beautiful books for our coffee table and of course, pasta Sundays.

The latter is highest up on that list and probably the most likely to happen, no matter how much I fancy myself as a cross between Heidi Swanson and Rachel Ball.

I’m sure that traditionally pasta on a Sunday should be had with a slow-cooked meat sauce like ragù, but being a pasta fiend and predominately herbivorous a simple pesto is my go-to sauce for any celebration of carbohydrates. The kale adds an element of richness (and health benefit), but I couldn’t give up the basil altogether, and neither could my not particularly kale loving beau, however you can easily sub the basil and go all kale if that’s how you like to roll.

Oh! Before I forget, this blog turned 2 on Friday so I baked a great little cake to celebrate with, which will be on here in the not too distant future. I also wanted to say a massive thank you as coinciding with that, there’s now more than 3,000 of you following this weird and wonderful little thing I’ve got going on. AWESOME!

Linguine with Kale Pesto | Thyme & Honey

Linguine with Kale Pesto

Serves 2

For the pesto (makes 400g):

50g kale leaves, stems discarded
50g fresh basil leaves
2 cloves of garlic, roughly chopped with salt
8 tablespoons good quality extra virgin olive oil
3 tablespoons pine nuts
2 tablespoons walnut halves
60g fresh parmigiano reggiano, finely grated
40g fresh pecorino romano, finely grated
40g butter, room temperature

200g linguine


To make the pesto, in a food processor add the kale and basil leaves, garlic, walnuts, pine nuts, olive oil and a generous seasoning of salt and pepper and blend.

Add the grated cheese and softened butter and blend again until the pesto becomes creamy and smooth. Add an extra glug of olive oil for good measure.

Cook the linguine according to packet instructions. When ready, drain and reserve a 1/4 cup of the pasta’s cooking water. Add 2 heaped tablespoons of the kale pesto to the hot pasta and add enough of the reserved water to loosen the sauce. Serve immediately.

Store the pesto covered with a little olive oil in the fridge. Keeps for up to 1 week.

14 thoughts on “Linguine with Kale Pesto

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I have so much kale in my garden at the moment, so now it know what to do with it!!! Thanks for sharing! Liz x

  2. Comfort food and still something healthy. Definitely keeping this in the recipe book, thanks! xx, Laura

  3. This looks so tasty Gabriella! Can’t believe the blog is turning two!!! yay!

  4. Looking at your pictures I wish I could eat those linguine right now! 🙂

  5. meganva says:

    I just arrived home and am excited to get back in the kitchen! I’m looking forward to trying out some of your vegan-friendly creations 🙂

  6. Reblogged this on Latina Foodie Chronicles and commented:
    Craving a yummy Pesto sauce for you next pasta dish?

  7. Jayme & Jessica says:

    I’m a pasta lover, this recipe looks great and what a great way to sneak in some healthy Kale 🙂

  8. laurasmess says:

    You’re an amazing photographer, I love the perspectives and the focal length that you use! Awesome post. Nothing beats a good homemade pesto and kale is such a great ingredient to add… extra nutrients without chewing through bowls of leaves! x

  9. Congrats on your two years :)!

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

The Festivist

... because the world is a place worth celebrating

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegetarian and vegan food & photography from a tiny Berlin kitchen and beyond

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

