Roasted Almond Butter | Thyme & Honey

I’ll be the first to admit that I haven’t been giving this online space of mine much love in the last few weeks. The truth is I’ve been totally put off cooking anything that takes longer than 15 minutes due to huge amounts of our new home/building work stress. We haven’t been able to move in, building work has overrun and has gone way over-budget, and I had no idea how much stuff I’d need to buy (who even thinks about stuff like hangers and laundry hampers?). All in all, I’m feeling pretty meh, and I can’t cook when I’m meh. Ya dig?

I’ve also been working (ever so slowly) on a new project. I’m currently looking into self-hosting this blog, dipping my toes in the water if you will, which would allow me to have more creative control over how it looks and just take general ownership over my space. It’s a really cool thought, but the process of doing so is terrifically intimidating and I’m yet to get my head around it and figure the whole thing out thankfully my brother is kindly helping me out. More on that soon, I hope!

Despite my current woes I have been getting really into one thing: making nut butter. I never really realised just how easy it is, and it’s amazing that you can make the most delicious nut butter without even adding a grain of salt! Just have a look at the back of a jar of Skippy and you’ll wonder just what are all of those E numbers for, and why is there so much sugar when natural nuts taste so damn epic all on their own?

While I’m somewhat absent from this space, you can always see what I’m up to on Twitter or Instagram where I post pictures of food and talk sh*t about most things. Be back soon, promise!

Roasted Almond Butter | Thyme & Honey

Roasted Almond Butter

Yields 500g

500g raw, skin-on almonds


Spread the almonds out onto a baking tray and roast at 180Β°c (160Β°c Fan) for 15 minutes.

Remove from the oven and leave to cool until warm.

Add the warm almonds to a food processor (I use a 1.4ltr capacity model, so did this in two batches), and blend continuously for 15 minutes, stopping every couple of minutes to scrape down the sides the bowl. After 15 minutes the natural oil from the almonds will have released and they’ll be blended into smooth and creamy nut butter. And… that’s it.

If you fancy a hint of sweetness, stir in a tablespoon of honey.

Store in an airtight container and keep in the fridge for up to 3 weeks.

17 thoughts on “Roasted Almond Butter

  1. Yum! That looks so good !

  2. Ema Jones says:

    Roasted Almond Butter and toast would make a great breakfast πŸ™‚

  3. It makes me feel better that I’m not the only one who’s been a lil MIA lately. I’ve been cheating on my blog with summer! Glad to see you back in action.

  4. yum! any sort of nut butter is amazing when homemade, but i especially love almond πŸ™‚

  5. Bonnie Eng says:

    Looks like a delicious and easy recipe…thanks for sharing! πŸ˜‰

    1. That sounds easy enough (?) for someone like me. Thanks for the simple recipe and hope your projects (home and self-hosting blog) go well on their final stretch.

  6. This looks so delicious! Can’t believe how easy it sounds. Will be trying it out πŸ™‚

    1. Gabriella says:

      I can’t get enough of homemade nut butter now, especially since Morrison’s have 500g bags of almonds on for Β£4 at the moment… πŸ™‚

  7. Know what you mean about time to blog…..life can really get in the way of blog love! LOL!

    1. Gabriella says:

      Tell me about it. I can’t seem to find the time to cook and really focus right now with work and the house! But we should be in next weekend.. and I’m planning a cake!! πŸ™‚

  8. Looks delicious! I agree, nuts “au naturel” are the way forward!

  9. Looks like an amazing recipe!

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

Well Placed

journeys to the world's most spectacular destinations

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegan & vegetarian food and photography from urban nature and a small Berlin studio

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

