20140725-172419.jpg

The weekend. A time for indulgence, for having a day off from your diet, for a spot of leisurely drinking. What a glorious thing!

I’m living my weekend to the full (blogging in bed on a Saturday night #YOLO), and not only am I doing all of the above, I’m doing it on holiday. For an entire week (on a beach with unlimited supply of halloumi cheese). In short, I’m living the good life and dammit I want to shout about it.

I had originally intended to buy one of those card readers so I could blog (with pictures) from my tablet, but I never got round to it. Plus I’m struggling to type on what is essentially a giant iPhone as it is let alone edit all of my photos on it. Seriously, I hardly know how to process RAW images at the best of times.

So as a parting gift I bring you the perfect bacon and egg sandwich starring bacon, egg and chilli jam. Kind of ridiculous yet totally necessary, especially if you’ve gotten ahead of yourself with the idea that daytime drinking is entirely acceptable on the weekend (which it is).

WAIT! Don’t go – the other day I was ecstatic to see that my last recipe was featured on Freshly Pressed! So I just want to say a BIG hello to all the new and old followers, and thank you for reading my weirdo monologues… : )

20140725-172451.jpg

20140725-172503.jpg

20140725-172425.jpg

20140725-172430.jpg

20140725-172444.jpg

20140725-172437.jpg

20140725-172456.jpg

The perfect bacon and egg sandwich + homemade chilli jam

Serves 1, multiply accordingly.

For the chilli jam (makes around 250g):
1 tablespoon vegetable or sunflower oil
1 red onion, sliced
1 garlic clove, minced
400g cherry tomatoes, halved
2 teaspoons hot chilli flakes
1 tablespoon dark soy sauce
2 tablespoons tomato paste
75ml white wine vinegar
150g soft dark brown sugar

For a sandwich of epic proportions:
3 rashers smoked bacon
2 rashers smoked bacon strips
1 egg
2 slices white bread
Butter


To make the chilli jam, heat the oil, onion, garlic and tomatoes in a heavy saucepan. Cover and cook on a medium heat for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add the chilli flakes, soy sauce, tomato paste, white wine vinegar and brown sugar and stir. Leave uncovered and continue to cook for a further 15 minutes.

Season to taste and remove from the heat. Leave to cool slightly before serving to allow the chilli jam to set slightly.

Store in a sterilised jar in the fridge for up to 1 week.

Now onto the sarnie. Fry bacon until crispy. The bacon strips are for extra crispy texture and decadence.

Fry the egg, keep the yolk runny.

Toast the bread, and butter the shit out of it.

Top the bread with chilli jam, bacon, bacon, bacon and the fried egg.

Devour and kiss that hangover goodbye.

6 thoughts on “The perfect bacon and egg sandwich + homemade chilli jam

  1. Looks so delicious!! Sometimes the simplest things are best!! And sounds like you’re having a blast! Have a great day 🙂

    http://youtube.com/addalittlefood

  2. Fantastic! Good for you getting featured on Freshly Pressed! Nice. Sounds like you are having a great time on holiday….

  3. This looks yum! Great minds think alike – weirdly, I recently posted about MY favourite bacon sandwich, which also includes chilli jam! Take a look and let me know what you think 🙂 http://www.eatdrinkcook.co.uk/simple-pleasures-an-ode-to-the-bacon-sandwich/

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Oh there is nothing like good bacon and egg… I too love Chilli jam and have a yummy recipe on my blog http://www.themotherhubbbardscupboard.com/chilli-jam/ I hope you have a look and give my recipe a go 🙂 I’m definitely going to try yours! Thanks for sharing! Liz x

  5. We sampled a chilli jam in a restaurant last night and was about to look for a recipe to make my own! Have only been following your post for a couple of days, what a coincidence. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

Well Placed

journeys to the world's most spectacular destinations

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegan & vegetarian food and photography from urban nature and a small Berlin studio

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

