Courgette + Feta Salad | Thyme & Honey

Courgette + Feta Salad | Thyme & Honey

The other day I was asked what set my blog apart from the rest. In short, what was my USP?

In a world where even the most obscure ingredient is relatively accessible, complex recipes, fancy techniques and even fancier equipment saturate our daily lives. Don’t get me wrong, I would jump at the chance to dine at Noma, but ask me where I’d be happiest and I’d say sitting by the sea with grilled octopus dressed in lemon and olive oil and a village salad. Rustic food, food meant for the table, for the act of sharing and breaking bread, that’s the food that I love and the food that I cook.

I’m not sure that counts as a USP, but I’m not one for fads and gimmicks. So simple cooking, rustic fare and an approachable way of eating is what it’s got to be for me, and what you’ll continue to find here… with the odd complex experiment thrown in for amusements’ sake.

This courgette and feta salad is a year-round staple in my kitchen, but it tastes best towards the end of a scorching summer’s day. Raw ribbons of courgette spiked with salty crumbs of feta marry so well with a lazy oil/lemon dressing. Fresh herbs pack a slight punch and bring everything to life. I eat this on its own, with BBQ’d meat, tossed with pasta or with brown rice and a dollop of hummus.

Courgette + Feta Salad

Serves 2

2 large courgettes, peeled into ribbons
60g feta cheese
Juice of half a lemon
2 tablespoons olive oil
A tablespoon each of fresh mint and dill, chopped


Peel the courgettes and place the ribbons in a large bowl. Add the fresh herbs, crumble in the feta, squeeze over the lemon juice and drizzle with olive oil.

Season to taste and toss well before serving.

freshly-pressed-rectangle

55 thoughts on “Something Simple, Courgette + Feta Salad

  1. I love this recipe…do come over and join us at the new vegetarian foodie group “Sharing food with Shivaay Delights”

    https://m.facebook.com/groups/1433687623575418?ref=m_notif&notif_t=group_activity

    Can’t wait to see you there

    Regards D πŸ™‚

  2. Sarah says:

    This salad looks and sounds absolutely lovely!

  3. This sounds great – I never really think to have courgettes raw, but after a fortnight in Greece, I can’t get enough Feta, so this might just be the perfect dish for me!

    1. Gabriella says:

      They are really great raw when peeled into ribbons, just enough bite but not overwhelming. Not a huge fan of raw courgette when cut into thick chunks, although throw some hummus into the mix and I am content with however it’s prepared!

  4. eatwherewhy says:

    This looks amazing. Must give it a try.

  5. LowCarbSuccessBrett says:

    This salad looks amazing Gabriella! And all this time, I only thought a “courgette” was something I dated πŸ™‚

    1. Gabriella says:

      Hi Brett! Now you’ve got me interested – where in the world are you? And do you call courgettes zucchini? πŸ™‚

  6. icookandcode says:

    This is a beautiful reason for your USP! Hope to see more from you πŸ™‚

  7. Shannon says:

    This salad looks so refreshing for a hots summer day! I’ll have to try it – once all this rain goes away.

    1. Gabriella says:

      Wishing the rain away for you!

  8. Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed.

  9. Therese Lu says:

    Thank you for sharing this! I will definitely try it soon.

  10. phanuel1 says:

    Nice post! keep sharing healthy recipe πŸ™‚

  11. Please check out my blog?

    1. Gabriella says:

      Hi Anna,

      I love your blog, such a great idea! I wish I’d done something like that when I was your age – then I would have really enjoyed those long and often boring summer holidays. Keep up the good work!

      Gabriella x

  12. Sounds so yummy! I may have to try it!

  13. vikitas says:

    Your USP is your ability to make the simple, seem like an adventure. This recipe makes our taste buds tingle just by reading it. For a blogger, there’s no better way

  14. Sarahj says:

    Sounds great I am going to give it a try!

  15. jesusclark says:

    Reblogged this on Jesus Clark and commented:
    This is a great and simple recipe for those who want something crunchy, healthy, and fast! πŸ˜€

  16. photoec says:

    ey
    I like you blog, can you view my blog. Thank you πŸ˜‰

  17. Looks fantastic! πŸ˜€

  18. Alyssa says:

    Simple is perfect. Love this recipe!

  19. rhonwynalyna says:

    That is simplicity in itself and as such, divine πŸ™‚

  20. What a delightfully fresh looking recipe, and a great way to use up the current glut of courgettes pouring out of the garden. I had never thought of using them raw like this. Beautifully simple πŸ™‚

  21. brownam06 says:

    Wow you have an amazing conversational writing style!!!!! Its not pretentious or overwhelming!!!!in food writing and the professional kitchen its a common place for arrogance to rule the (chopping) block !!!! I cannot wait to try out this recipe!!!! Although I must ask what is USP?!!!! Lol

  22. bowsandblush says:

    YUM! For sure will have to try this!

  23. punkteland says:

    Sounds delicious…have to try this…

  24. Scarlet says:

    Going to make it this weekend, thanks for sharing!

  25. Nice! And congratulations for being Freshly Pressed! πŸ™‚

  26. This looks so delicious, and simple enough to make! Can’t wait to try it out.

  27. Christina says:

    I love your diverse use of the vegetable peeler! That is one of my top go-to tools in the kitchen. It also shaves hard cheeses and makes carrot ribbons for impromptu salads. Beautiful recipe!
    Christina
    http://www.foodiewithalife.com

  28. Sounds really good and the perfect use for my home grown courgettes !

  29. w8screens says:

    Guten Start in die neue Woche wΓΌnsch ich πŸ˜‰

  30. Wow, I just discovered this site this morning. This is so beautiful in its simplicity. Even I, whose interest in food is in the eating not the cooking, can follow it without checking the recipe again! And I have the ingredients already. By the way, I write on leadership towards a full and meaningful life. From my experience, sharing food over good conversation creates deeper connections. I think there’s a post to write about this one day soon. Come over and visit me some time. http:joyceharkness.com

  31. lauren says:

    I love simple recipes like this. Thanks for sharing!

  32. Reblogged this on thecouponcrusader and commented:
    What a great idea to use some zucchini! I think they would work just as well. And lets face it. We all have them coming out our ears!

  33. Amazingly & simple! Delicious! Thanks for sharing!
    Anisa – The Macadames. xx
    http://www.themacadames.com

  34. ramramani says:

    This looks tasty:-)

  35. clarenckir says:

    Reblogged this on clarenckir and commented:
    Very good ideas

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

Well Placed

journeys to the world's most spectacular destinations

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegan & vegetarian food and photography from urban nature and a small Berlin studio

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

