Spiced Couscous w/ Cauliflower | Thyme & Honey

I’m in love with the moment. Recently the days have been long and warm, and despite being woken early by parakeets squawking relentlessly outside of my window each morning, I’ve been enjoying the sun that peaks through the cracks in my shutters, warming my face while I wait for my alarm to give me my cue to get out of bed.

Downstairs the smell of fresh coffee sends warning signals to my brain that it’s time to fire up the ovens, which I do slowly as I selectively read the news and plan long-awaited replies to emails from friends in faraway places. More recently I’ve filled this waking time scribbling over floor plans and creating wish lists on Anthropologie for the new home (our first) that we have now finally exchanged on.

The process of buying a house is one that I am very happy to say goodbye to, and I am now more than ready to not only spend every penny in my bank account on soap dishes, bed linen and salad tongs, but to just relax and enjoy the simple things. Like this couscous lunch bowl that works great as leftovers, keeps well in the fridge, works as a main or side and well, is a general crowd pleaser.

I hope everyone is enjoying the sunshine and the simple things as much as I am! I’ll be back soon with something delicious and more home-y updates, until then I leave you with two perfect summer soundtracks:

Poolside – Stir It Up MixtapeΒ ; Cereal Summer ’14 Playlist

Spiced Couscous w/ Cauliflower | Thyme & Honey

Spiced Couscous w/ Cauliflower | Thyme & Honey

Spiced Couscous w/ Cauliflower (+ capers, sultanas, pumpkin seeds, herbs)

Serves 4

250g couscous
300ml water, boiled
1 cauliflower head, cut into florets
2 tablespoons sultanas
2 tablespoons pumpkin seeds
1 tablespoon capers
1 teaspoon chilli flakes
2 tablespoons ground turmeric
1 tablespoon sumac
Generous handful of fresh parsley and mint, roughly chopped
Olive oil
Half a lemon


Preheat oven to 220Β°c (200Β°c fan). Toss the cauliflower florets with a glug of oil, a pinch of salt and 1 tablespoon turmeric. Roast for 40 minutes.

Add the boiled water to the couscous and cover for 5 minutes. Meanwhile in a large bowl toss together the (slightly cooled) cauliflower, pumpkin seeds, sultanas, capers and chilli flakes.

Add the cooked couscous, remaining turmeric and sumac, fresh herbs and a dash of oil and a squeeze of lemon. Mix well and season generously. Serve at room temperature.

13 thoughts on “Spiced Couscous w/ Cauliflower (+ capers, sultanas, pumpkin seeds, herbs)

  1. addalittle says:

    Yum!
    Love the salty sweet combo of capers and sultanas – bet this is delicious!
    http://youtube.com/addalittlefood

    1. Gabriella says:

      The capers make this! Love that contrast too πŸ™‚

  2. mash29 says:

    This looks great! Will definitely be giving it a go. How many does this quantity serve?

    1. Gabriella says:

      Ah! I knew I’d forgotten something. This amount of couscous would serve 4, or 6 as a side dish. I hope you enjoy it!

  3. fattybaker says:

    Always having couscous on its own, so this recipe shall giving me an idea for a new recipe..

  4. BBQ Al says:

    Looks lovely, has echoes of Sicily

  5. Christina says:

    This looks amazing! I might have this for dinner πŸ™‚
    Christina
    http://www.foodiewithalife.com

  6. this sounds like a lovely combination of sweet, salty and a little lemony and I’m always looking for ways to add turmeric to my life.

  7. Love the combo of pumpkin seeds and capers among all the other delicious flavors in this delicious! Looks so healthy and delicious!

  8. Love this blog! If anyone wants to learn how to make some healthy recipes please check out my youtube channel! https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1-YCxeIdRk7xZsCOyJaqyw

  9. fitfood954 says:

    What a great combination of flavors! Capers are my favorite πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

Well Placed

journeys to the world's most spectacular destinations

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegan & vegetarian food and photography from urban nature and a small Berlin studio

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

