Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Doughnut day is upon us. That one magical day of the year where we celebrate those yeasty little buns and rings, that come smothered accordingly in icing or glaze, or rolled in powdered sugar only to leave snowy footprints in their wake. I’ve had this pencilled in my planner for weeks and have been planning this meticulously because well, I really bloody love doughnuts.

When I first got into this blogging game I didn’t really have a plan, and I certainly didn’t think about what I was going to write or cook or how I would photograph things and present them to all of 3 people who read my posts (hi, mum!). But after a while, perhaps after a year or so, I started to take things a bit more seriously. The driving factor behind all of my posts is my love for food and experimentation, and translating that into approachable recipes with a bit of humour thrown in for good measure, but it’s also important to write about things that people want to read about. I mean, I was hardly going to sit here and tell you about a great salad on National Doughnut Day, was I?

So… about these doughnuts. The dough recipe used here is one that I researched for a good amount of time before trying it out. And I admit I was sceptical as the high amount of yeast does appear to be excessive, but trust me when I say these doughnuts are pure perfection. Plus you can leave them to prove in the fridge while you get on with your day, which is so convenient if the sun is shining and you really don’t want to miss it because let’s be real, it’s probably never going to come back again #LondonProblems. I wanted to kind of recreate a particular doughnut I ate ever so gracefully face planted when I was in New York earlier this year. It was yeasty, soft and adorned with a thick chocolate glaze, almonds and some crunchy biscuit bits. I’m more for a sticky bun that’s all about the doughnut and less about the Kripsy Kreme style glaze, so that is exactly what I did. Let’s go through the process:

Doughnuts + glaze 1 = doughnut soaked in vanilla glaze, like a sponge – so cray

Doughnuts + glaze 1 + glaze 2 = sticky sponge topped with equally sticky but chocolatey glaze – utterly ridiculous

Doughnuts + glaze 1 + glaze 2 + flaked almonds and crushed malted biscuits = can’t handle life

Doughnut lovers, this one’s for you. x

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Double Glazed Chocolate Almond Doughnuts

Makes 15 doughnuts and doughnut balls

For the dough: recipe lightly adapted from Lara Ferroni’s Doughnut recipe

3 tablespoons active dry yeast OR 2 ¼ teaspoons instant, fast acting yeast – not to be confused, people!
1/2 teaspoon caster sugar
250ml whole milk, warmed
300g bread flour
3 egg yolks, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste, or extract
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons caster sugar
120g unsalted butter, room temperature
Vegetable oil for frying

For the vanilla glaze:

200g icing sugar, sifted
8-10 tablespoons water
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

For the chocolate glaze with almond crunch:

150g icing sugar
4 tablespoons cocoa powder
6 tablespoons water and;
Handful of flaked almonds and malted biscuits, crushed


Add 2 tablespoons of yeast (or 1 1/2 tsp fast acting yeast), 60g flour and a half teaspoon of sugar to 180ml warmed milk, stir to create a smooth paste and set aside for 30 minutes.

Once frothy add the yeast mixture to the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attached, along with the rest of the yeast and milk, egg yolks, vanilla, salt and sugar. Add the butter and 60g of flour and mix until incorporated.

Switch to the dough hook and knead in the rest of the flour 30g at a time (turning the mixer off for each addition) and continue to knead the dough on medium until it is starts to pull away from the sides of the bowl, around 2-3 minutes. The dough should be smooth and sticky. Cover the bowl with cling wrap and refrigerate for 1 – 12 hours. The reason why we refrigerate the dough here is because of the higher proportion of yeast in the recipe. I refrigerated mine for 1.5 hours.

Tip the dough out onto a floured surface and roll out until ½ inch thick, then cut out circles using a 3” cutter and a 1” cutter to make the hole. Transfer the doughnuts and doughnut holes to a baking sheet lined with a floured dish cloth, spacing each at least 1” apart. Re-roll any scraps to cut out extra doughnuts.

Cover loosely with cling wrap and rest for 5-20 minutes until doubled in size, checking on them every 5 minutes. You’ll know when they’re ready by lightly pressing a finger into the dough – if it springs back slowly then they’re right.

Heat at least 2 inches of oil in a heavy bottomed pan until it reaches 180°c. Batch cook the doughnuts 2-3 at a time. Fry for 30 seconds either side until golden brown. Remove from the oil with a slotted spoon and place on a wire rack set above kitchen paper to drain and cool slightly.

Mix together the icing sugar and water with vanilla in a shallow dish. The glaze should be thin. Dunk the doughnut into the glaze and turn to coat. Set on a piece of parchment paper for the glaze to set. The doughnuts will soak all of this glazey-goodness up. If you want a thicker, flaky glaze simply add less water.

Mix together the icing sugar, cocoa powder and water. Dip the tops of the doughnuts in the glaze. Sprinkle with almonds and crushed biscuits.

15 thoughts on “Double Glazed Chocolate Almond Doughnuts

  1. Haha I can relate, I know that if someone reads my blog it’s my mum 🙂 Your doughnuts look like a work of art, I wish I could grab one through the screen. Have a lovely day!

  2. Siân says:

    I’ve always been a bit scared of making doughnuts but these look to good not to try!

  3. addalittle says:

    Ahh!! Can’t handle how great these look, and love the way you’ve photographed and styled them too!
    http://youtube.com/addalittlefood

  4. theveganmuffinwoman says:

    These look fantastic! I liked how you talked about your beginnings in this post. I feel so frazzled as a beginning blogger. I am just all over the place! I hope to gain the direction that you did to use my baking and cooking and writing to connect to people. Also, these doughnuts look scrumptious! I love your blog and your layout 🙂

    1. Gabriella says:

      Starting out can be daunting, but just stick to what you love and blog about things that interest you, and like-minded people are bound to follow 🙂

  5. These look amazing! I will have to give them a try! thanks for sharing 🙂

  6. You’re amazing. These might kill me tonight.

  7. These look crazy delicious! Looks like I’ll be extending this doughnut holiday into the weekend 😉

  8. You are killing me! These look insanely good. Happy doughnut celebrations 🙂

  9. littleboxbrownie says:

    Yum I have been dreaming of donuts lately and these look fantastic.

  10. Amazing food photography and great blog as a whole,love it.

  11. Reblogged this on Allure Galore and commented:
    Uuuh yum, these doughnuts look so mouth-watering!

  12. oscardarling says:

    These look so amazing…I’d say I’d love one with a tall, cold glass of milk but realistically, I’d like three or four with a tall, bottle of cold milk 🙂 I made my own doughnuts for the first time recently in a Viennoiserie class and eating them, warm from the pan, rolled in golden cinnamon sugar and stuffed with vanilla bean creme patisserie? Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh there are no words!

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

The Festivist

by Hannah Serena Goldstein

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegetarian and vegan food & photography from a tiny Berlin kitchen and beyond

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

