Lemon Panna Cotta with Lemon Sugar {Dairy Free} | Thyme & Honey

Lemon Panna Cotta with Lemon Sugar {Dairy Free} | Thyme & Honey

I’m a reluctant lactose intolerant. I’d rather carry various tablets and ginger sweets with me and be bent over in pain than give up dairy. I like milk in my coffee, I love cheese to no end, I survive on ice cream (we’ve been over that before), and creamy desserts? Hold me back.

But! If I can eat something that tastes just as good as the real stuff, or better yet, goes undetected as faux dairy, then I am ALL for it. Which brings us to this saintly little beauty. But first let’s talk about life for a sec.

Life has been different recently because a month ago I moved in with a boy. He is a total babe. He waits for me to have dinner, he always remembers to buy spinach and is forever game to do date night at the cinema. He even shares popcorn without genuinely minding. But… it also turns out that he’s a total SLAVE DRIVER when it comes to getting in shape – something I almost wish that I never told him I wanted to do. The man has eyes like a hawk., I mean not a single biscuit gets past him and he encourages exercise 4 times a week. THANK GOD my colleagues bring shit loads of cake and treats into work, because frankly it’s the only way I survive.

However I have found a loophole and that loophole happens to be my birthday, which is today. CAKE GALORE MY FRIENDS… I’ll be posting a recipe here about that later. For now enjoy these dairy free, (kind of) guilt free yet totally indulgent desserts.

See ya!

Dairy Free Lemon Panna Cotta with Lemon Sugar | Thyme & Honey

Dairy Free Lemon Panna Cotta with Lemon Sugar | Thyme & Honey

 

Dairy Free Lemon Panna Cotta with Lemon Sugar | Thyme & Honey

 

Dairy Free Lemon Panna Cotta with Lemon Sugar | Thyme & Honey

Dairy Free Lemon Panna Cotta with Lemon Sugar | Thyme & Honey

Dairy Free Lemon Panna Cotta with Lemon Sugar | Thyme & Honey

Lemon Panna Cotta with Lemon Sugar {Dairy Free}

Serves 4

For the lemon panna cotta:

1 x 400g can coconut milk
100g caster sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste
Zest of 1 lemon
Juice of 2 lemons
3 gelatine leaves

For the lemon sugar:

Zest of 1 lemon
2 and 1/2 tablespoons caster sugar

Soak the gelatine leaves in just enough cold water to cover them and set aside.

Meanwhile add the coconut milk, caster sugar, vanilla, lemon zest and juice to a saucepan and heat on low until scalding, whisking occasionally.

Discard any excess liquid from the gelatine leaves and whisk in a good splash of the hot coconut milk to dissolve them entirely. Then add the dissolved gelatine mixture back into the saucepan with the coconut milk and heat gently for 5 minutes, whisking often.

Pour the mixture through a sieve to remove any zest or pips etc., then pour into your chosen moulds.

Place in the fridge to set for 1 hour, then give each mould a stir to stop the coconut milk from separating. Refrigerate overnight or for a further 3 hours.

Make the lemon sugar by mixing together the sugar with lemon zest. Ta da! Sprinkle on top of each panna cotta before serving.

4 thoughts on “Lemon Panna Cotta with Lemon Sugar {Dairy Free}

  1. Adam says:

    Fortunately I don’t have any intolerances (except for morons!) and a reasonable metabolism so I eat what I want (ish) and don’t have to exercise purely for girth reasons. I don’t a sweet tooth either so puds aren’t generally my thing so that probably helps. However this looks lovely and summery and light. Very nice indeed. and as always beautifully photographed. Have a very happy birthday.

  2. This is my favourite post of the week. I have to make this, it looks just so stunning. Love the new design as well!

  3. saluteebene says:

    sounds delicious! great alternative to milk. My son is dairy-free.

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

The Festivist

... because the world is a place worth celebrating

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegetarian and vegan food & photography from a small Berlin home and beyond

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

