20140504-144752.jpg

I’m writing this on the train, a train that I’d really rather not be on right now. The sun is shining, it is definitely warm, but as usual I’m inappropriately dressed for the weather, something I’m particularly good at doing.

My point really though is that this is the first moment I’ve had entirely to myself since I moved in with said boy in previous post, and as such this is the first moment I’ve had to sit down and write this, to all of you, and tell you about these banging cookies. I’m still trying to work out how two separate lives run together as one yet retain their independence.

I handed out so many of these little dreams to friends yesterday in a bid to get them out of my home and away from my hips. They are damn addictive, light, chewy, buttery and sweet. And the flavour of rose… I have no words! That simple taste makes me so nostalgic for chunks of my childhood.

What’s really great about these cookies is that the batter can be used as a base for so many flavours. Try it with orange extract or throw in some chocolate chips. Whatever you add the result will be heavenly: thin, delicate, chewy cookies.

20140504-144731.jpg

20140504-144803.jpg

Chewy Rose Vanilla Cookies

Makes 25 cookies

125g butter
200g sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1.5 tbsp rose water
Pinch of salt
1/4 tsp baking powder
180g all-purpose flour
50g icing sugar

Preheat the oven to 180Β°c / 160Β°c (fan). Prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Using an electric beater, cream the sugar and butter together until light and fluffy. Add the egg, vanilla and rose water and mix to combine.

Add the salt baking powder and flour and mix with a wooden spoon until just combined.

Pour the icing sugar in a bowl, then drop a heaped teaspoon of the cookie into the sugar, and gently roll into a rough ball. Place the balls about 2 inches apart on a baking sheet.

Bake for 15 minutes, then remove from the oven and leave on the baking sheets for 10 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool entirely.

20140504-144746.jpg

11 thoughts on “Chewy Rose Vanilla Cookies

  1. Yum these look good! I have never used rose water..

  2. sarahjmir says:

    I have rose water and never thought to put it in cookies! Could I make these sturdy enough for icecream sandwiches?

    1. Gabriella says:

      Hmm they are quite thin, maybe add a bit of extra flour to toughen the mix slightly, I’m sure they’d still be delicious!

      1. sarahjmir says:

        Thanks Gabriella!

  3. Haha I’m often inappropriately dressed for the weather too,… usually end up feeling cold!
    What lovely biscuits. I have not mastered the art of making chewy biscuits, somehow mine always turn out crunchy. Is there any chewy tip I must know?

    1. Gabriella says:

      I think the secret is in the dough itself, it’s super sticky, like a really thick cake batter rather than like more sturdier cookie doughs!

  4. C.e. says:

    They look delicious, and it is lovely to be able to modify recipes according to individual taste. Oh, yes, keeping it off the hips…picking up made to order Italian subs at a lovely Italian specialty shop around the corner, a big bar of dark chocolate, caramel, and sea salt begged me to purchase it…really….well, what can one do? Say no? Nope.

  5. Sarah says:

    These sound amazing. I’m totally won over by anything with rose in it, every time!

  6. I wonder if they would work with lavender? Though I’m definitely going to try with the vanilla and rose first!

    1. Gabriella says:

      Absolutely! The cookie base is really versatile, just sub the rose water for dried lavender πŸ™‚

  7. These sound amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

The Festivist

... because the world is a place worth celebrating

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegetarian and vegan food & photography from a tiny Berlin kitchen and beyond

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

