Guacamole | Thyme & Honey

Guacamole | Thyme & Honey

Modesty is a virtue, but this really is the best guacamole ever so what little modesty I may usually have has gone straight out the window.

I know this isn’t necessarily authentic guacamole for lack of tomatoes and red onion, and the garlic in this will surely make traditionalists sneer, but if there’s any true test to its greatness it will be that the raw onion and fresh coriander went totally undetected by my onion hating, coriander bashing beau. Seriously though, what is it with hating raw onions?!

Grating the onion and garlic right into the avocado means this can be whipped up in a matter of minutes, which is handy when it will inevitably be devoured at the same rate. Just make sure your avocados are ripe (essential) and that you have plenty of tortilla chips, because guacamole without tortilla chips is a very sad dip indeed.

The only problem I faced when making this, and perhaps because I had lost the ability to imagine at that particular moment, was that I had no idea how to photograph such a beautifully simple offering other than as simplistically as possible. I hope I did it justice.

Guacamole | Thyme & Honey

Guacamole | Thyme & Honey

The World’s Best Guacamole, as told by me.

4 ripe, medium sized avocados
1/4 white onion, finely grated
1 garlic clove, minced
Tabasco hot sauce
Juice of 1 lime
Fresh coriander, finely chopped

Mash the avocado with a fork, then mix in the grated onion and minced garlic. Add around 10 dashes of Tabasco and the juice of a lime. Mix well and season to taste with salt and freshly cracked black pepper. Finally stir in around 2 tablespoons of chopped coriander. Serve drizzled with olive oil and topped with extra coriander. And tortilla chips, obviously.

Adapted from Heidi Swanson’s Guacamole recipe

18 thoughts on “The World’s Best Guacamole

  1. sarahjmir says:

    Grating the onions in – genius 🙂

  2. Your photograph is stunning! I love it. We make our guacamole different every time, and I don’t think tomatoes and red onion are necessary at all. I really like your suggestion of grating the onion and garlic. Nice.

  3. Modesty has no place in the kitchen Gabriella. And this looks like a damn good guacamole! Been meaning to try Heidi’s one forever – I’m a huge fan of that woman’s work. Now I have extra incentive. X

  4. Shannon says:

    I make guacamole almost every week and never thought to just grate it all in, this is genius! x

  5. Big call there sister, but the photos do certainly do it justice!!

  6. I love your simple photos. Now i have guacamole cravings!

  7. Dreamy pictures. Just want to faceplant in that bowl tbh

  8. Looking good, although I use three times that amount of garlic with one avocado! I think I need to check in to some kind of infatuation clinic…

  9. alifemoment says:

    Lovely and yummy recipe! 🙂

  10. Made a very similar guacamole in a cooking class in Mexico. Simple, fresh and delicious!

    1. Gabriella says:

      Nice! I’ve never been to Mexico, but it’s been top of my hit list for a while..

  11. Love the shot of the avocados all lined up. Wonderful photography 🙂 Looking forward to following you!

  12. angelinahue says:

    Great pics! Shall have to try guacamole with coriander sometime and I like the idea a dash of spice with the Tabasco sauce.

  13. appleandbean says:

    thank you for this recipe! i just featured it as one of my “weekend reading” links this past weekend…my friends are so excited about it!

    1. Gabriella says:

      Thank you for featuring me 🙂

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

The Festivist

... because the world is a place worth celebrating

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegetarian and vegan food & photography from a tiny Berlin kitchen and beyond

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

