Brown Butter Banana Bread | Thyme & Honey

I’ve been told the three most stressful things in life are death, divorce and buying a house.

I’ve sadly experienced death, luckily never divorce and for the first time ever I am finding out what it’s like to buy and build a home. I’m basically at the mercy of arrogant estate agents who haven’t got the time of day in a seller’s market, in a city where buying a house is like some kind of competitive sport. Like a 200m sprint for a period conversion close to a tube station. And what’s with all the phone calls? Have any of these property negotiators heard of email? SIGH.

It is a stress that prior to a few weeks ago I never knew, which is why I’m now feeling very stupid having scoffed when my dad warned me about the absolute ball ache that buying a house is. Why can’t buying a house just be easy, a good old fashioned spit and shake on the sale? WHY?

Anyway, thanks to the aforementioned stress I’ve been under, I’ve been keeping it simple in the kitchen recently. Baking is therapeutic, and banana bread is the epitome of simple. Plus it gives me a great excuse to ignore calls from estate agents.

Enjoy!

Brown Butter Banana Bread

Makes one 9×5″ loaf

175g unsalted butter
240g all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
60ml buttermilk
1 teaspoon vanilla bean extract
350g ripe banana, roughly mashed with a fork
175g dark brown soft sugar

Preheat oven to 180Β°c and prepare a loaf tin with parchment paper

First brown the butter. On a medium heat melt the butter, whirling the pan occasionally. It’ll crackle and pop for a while, then it will stop. Give it a few swirls then pour it into a bowl to stop it from burning and to allow it to cool slightly.

Whisk together the flour, salt and baking powder in one bowl, then in another whisk together the eggs, vanilla and buttermilk. Add the sugar and whisk well, then add the banana and finally the brown butter. Next add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and whisk roughly.

Pour into your loaf tin and bake for 1 hour or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cut into mega thick slices and serve with butter. Lots and lots of butter.

13 thoughts on “Brown Butter Banana Bread

  1. This looks delicious.

    I guess I should stop buying the boxed.

  2. angelinahue says:

    Baking is therapeutic, and so are the aroma of the bread baking in the oven and eating the freshly baked bread!

    1. Gabriella says:

      I couldn’t agree more!

  3. Banana bread is a staple in our household (basically because they are always going black in the fruit bowl!). I couldn’t agree more – baking is the best way to de-stress! Good luck with the house hunting Gabriella. X

    1. Gabriella says:

      After yet another weekend of failed viewings, the search continues as does the rise of my stress levels. And I am not in possession of ripe bananas. Bummer! x

      1. Just imagine how great it’s going to be when you finally find the right one. Hang in there!! X

    1. Gabriella says:

      I know right! *cue eerie twilight zone music*

  4. rosealys says:

    I’ve tried many banana bread recipes in my time. This one wins hands down. I expect to be making this too frequently from now on.. Thankyou!

    1. Gabriella says:

      Wow, that is quite a title to hold! Brown butter makes everything better ; ) – so glad you liked it!

  5. If I wasn’t hungry before…I defiantly am now!
    Banana Bread is one of my favorites. Can’t wait to try this recipe out!

  6. Just made your banana bread and it is yummyliscious, that brown butter gives it a beautiful caramel flavour. I didn’t have vanilla bean extract so added the contents of half a vanilla pod to the butter it worked well. It’s also come out very light. Thanks Gabriella I’ll be making this again for sure.

    1. Gabriella says:

      Oh Sonia! How did I miss this comment?! I’m so glad that you liked the banana bread, it’s one of my absolute favourites and a great way to use up old bananas πŸ™‚ Thank you for the feedback, it’s always great to hear how things turn out x

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

Well Placed

journeys to the world's most spectacular destinations

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegan & vegetarian food and photography from urban nature and a small Berlin studio

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

