20140204-090156.jpg

20140204-085754.jpg

I’m an early bird. I wake up at 6am every single day. That’s an entire three hours before I have to leave my house to get to work. Mornings are deeply important to me. For starters I’m not a morning person at all, so waking up before everyone else gives me the solitude I require in order to wake up properly and not be a total sh*t all day. I check my emails, read the news, drink coffee, contemplate getting ready, check Facebook, get lost in BuzzFeed and eventually miss the early train that isn’t actually the early train but the train I absolutely need to get in order to arrive at work on time. I tell myself it’s the early train so I don’t feel like a bad person.

Most days I try and cook lunch at home and take it into work, I bet you do too. I bet you’re better than me at doing this as it’s not really one of my strong points. My mornings are so full of doing nothing particularly productive that anything that takes more than 15 minutes is not a viable option.

This pasta dish takes 15 minutes, and requires nothing other than things I already have in my cupboard.  It’s also better than just cooking pasta and dumping a load of store-bought sauce on it.

This would all be perfect if most days while running to catch the on-time train I didn’t realise that I’d left my lunch at home.

Pasta with Chickpeas

Serves 2, or 1 hungry person

100g ditaloni pasta (short macaroni)
120g canned chickpeas
3 tablespoons tomato purée
1/2 teaspoon chilli flakes
1 teaspoon dried rosemary
2 shallots, grated
Olive oil
100g spinach

Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a pan and add the grated shallots. Sauté for a few minutes then add the chickpeas, tomato purée and rosemary.

Add the dry macaroni and just enough boiling water to cover. Cook according to pasta packet instructions (around 10 minutes), checking to see if you need to add any extra water occasionally. The pasta will absorb all of the water when cooked, no need to drain.

Remove from the heat, season to taste and stir in the fresh spinach before serving.

14 thoughts on “Pasta with Chickpeas

  1. Christian Ekleberry says:

    That sounds delicious! I have to try this out! Thanks

  2. Rosh says:

    Mmmmm….sounds yummy. Gotta try it and I enjoyed your story about your mornings. Here it is noon and I just got showered! My bad 🙂

    1. Gabriella says:

      If only I could be employed to not get up until midday – living the dream 😉

  3. Rosh says:

    Reblogged this on Rose of Sharon Herbs and commented:
    I love chickpeas and this is a super easy recipe. It’s all good.

  4. NamrataJ says:

    Sounds yummy! Can’t wait to try this… 🙂

    1. Gabriella says:

      Let me know how it goes!

  5. Risty says:

    i like fast cook.. i should try, seems yummy. thanks 🙂

  6. Risty says:

    Reblogged this on Masakanku and commented:
    Must try this, for q quick!

  7. addalittle says:

    Looks amazing! And can totally relate to the early bird thing and getting lost in Buzzfeed! Great post again! 🙂

  8. meganva says:

    Hey Gabriella!

    I have never even heard of this “ditaloni” business. Cooking it like rice sounds really foreign to me, too! Is there a reason you choose this particular pasta? So many of your recipes look amazing, though, so I have faith 🙂

    I’ve finally returned home, and am getting back into the kitchen. Do you ever use a vegan tag for your recipes like this that happen to be vegan? I’d love to be able to narrow them down, even to vegetarian would be great (as I can usually modify to make most veg recipes suitable).

    Thanks!
    M.

    1. Gabriella says:

      Hi Megan!

      So sorry for the late reply. To be honest you could make this with any small pasta, I just happened to have a box of it that I brought back from Italy and is usually used in soups. I find it absorbs the flavours well and quickly, and I like that it’s a similar size to the chickpeas.

      I don’t cook many totally vegan recipes, although you’re right I haven’t tagged my vegetarian ones that well and no longer have a search bar to find them! I do however have this section in the recipe index (http://thymeandhoney.co.uk/recipe-index/#for herbivores) – this includes all of my meat-free savoury dishes, although some of those dishes do include dairy and egg.

      Most of my sweet recipes could be converted to be vegan-friendly but in particular these two are vegan or dairy free

      http://thymeandhoney.co.uk/2013/07/22/blackberry-lime-coconut-popsicles/

      http://thymeandhoney.co.uk/2014/05/22/dairy-free-lemon-panna-cotta-with-lemon-sugar/

      Hope that helps, and thanks for your feedback! I’m always looking at new ways to make the usability of this blog better.

      Gabriella x

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

Well Placed

journeys to the world's most spectacular destinations

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegan & vegetarian food and photography from urban nature and a small Berlin studio

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

