20140128-212356.jpg

Following on from my last post’s theme of eating clean and treating my body like a temple, I’ve got another recipe that’s all full of good. Trying to indulge less and go all yoga-nutritionist-turned-blogger does not come naturally to me; I like chocolate, I like pastries, I love peanut butter and bacon in equal measure and if you put a tub of humous in front of me do not be shocked if you never see it again.

I need bold flavours and slow-burning meals that satisfy my demanding taste buds and silence my hunger. Usually I’ll experiment and throw together meals that tick all of these boxes, but my inspiration can run dry from time to time. That’s when I refer toΒ 101 Cookbooks i.e. the original and still my favourite go-to blog and general cooking resource. Heidi’s flavour combinations often touch on my Armenian heritage or my forever growing love of Asian cuisine, and from experience I know that any recipe of hers that I cook will be an absolute joy to eat and leave me feeling good.

I’d had my eye on this particular recipe for some time but never got round to making it, until I found myself craving a lentil soup that would keep me energised and going for the day. I changed the recipe slightly to suit my mood, and the result was just delicious.

I may not be a pro at healthy living and eating yet, but I’m getting by just fine.

20140128-212411.jpg

20140128-223817.jpg

Red Lentil, Caramelised Onion + Coconut Soup

Serves 6

400g red split lentils, rinsed well
1.6 litres water
1 tablespoon turmeric
1 tablespoon garam masala
1 tablespoon salt
50g unsalted butter
1 large white onion, diced
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon mustard powder
25g fresh parsley, roughly chopped
300ml coconut milk

Cooked brown rice, to serve
Plain Greek yoghurt, to serve

Add the red lentils, turmeric, garam masala, salt, water and 20g butter to a large saucepan and bring to the boil. Once it starts bubbling reduce the heat to low and simmer for 15-20 minutes.

Meanwhile heat the remaining 30g butter in a frying pan or skillet and cook the onion along with the ground cumin and mustard powder, stirring occasionally until brown and starts to crisp and caramelise – around 15 minutes.

Add the cooked onions, chopped parsley and coconut milk to the lentils, check the seasoning and add salt & ground black pepper to taste.

Serve with brown rice and Greek yoghurt.

Adapted from 101 Cookbooks

5 thoughts on “Red Lentil, Caramelised Onion + Coconut Soup

  1. Love the way this sounds

  2. kitmunro says:

    Mmm! Thanks. I’m going to try this with the dark Puy lentils because I’m in France where they grow.

    1. Gabriella says:

      Oh wow delicious! That should be lovely. Let me know how it turns out!

      1. kitmunro says:

        The extra body Puy lentils have made it perfect, but to get best results you have to soak them for an hour and cook for twenty minutes.

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

The Festivist

... because the world is a place worth celebrating

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegetarian and vegan food & photography from a small Berlin home and beyond

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

