Chicken Leek and Mushroom Filo Pie

Well then, that was Christmas. Brie and cranberry tarts, chicken liver pâté, roast gammon, a serious turkey, sage butter, pigs in blankets, all the trimmings, apple pecan tart, ice cream, midnight turkey sandwiches, I mean come on. I’m still full.

I’m expecting family at the door waiting to be fed in approximately 3 hours, luckily I’m already prepared. Every year my family cooks a turkey lunch for Christmas day, and what I find surprising is that most people I have asked don’t. I guess it’s my mum’s Canadian way, her family always had turkey, too. My dad’s family? Who knows what my grandma cooked up: dolma and lahmajun perhaps?

I digress, by making this monster of a bird every year I enter into post-(apocolyptic)-Christmas with the knowledge of what I’ll cook for Boxing Day lunch. Of course this has to be a simple feat, I mean I spent 5+ hours in the kitchen yesterday and I don’t intend on doing a repeat today. Enter turkey pie.

In previous years I’ve made this with puff pastry and it is delicious, but I’ve become really fond of using filo pastry instead for an equally delicious yet slightly lighter version.

Chicken Leek Mushroom Pie fillingChicken Leek Mushroom pie

Turkey, Mushroom and Leek Filo Pie

Serves 8

30g unsalted butter
50g pancetta lardons
2 garlic cloves, whole
2 leeks, roughly chopped
Couple of handfuls chestnut mushrooms, chopped
800g leftover turkey, off the bone and skin removed
3-4 heaped tablespoons crème fraîche
4 sheets filo pastry
Olive oil to brush the pastry with
1/2 teaspoon black sesame seeds (optional)

Preheat oven to 200°c

Melt the butter on a medium heat and fry off the pancetta with the garlic cloves until slightly crisp. If you want you can discard the garlic cloves as they will have imparted their flavour, or just leave them in. Add the leeks, shortly followed by the mushrooms.

Once the leeks and mushrooms have softened, add the torn meat and give it a good stir to coat with all the flavours. Remove from the heat, stir in the crème fraîche and season generously with freshly ground black pepper and sea salt.

Get your pie dish and layer 4 sheets of filo pastry. Add the filling, then take the inner most sheet of filo and fold over to cover. Brush with oil then repeat the process with the remaining layers. Sprinkle with black sesame seeds if using.

Bake for 20-25 minutes or until nicely brown and crisp.

Serve immediately.

One thought on “Turkey + leek + mushroom filo pie

  1. sarahjmir says:

    wow this looks good!

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

The Festivist

by Hannah Serena Goldstein

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegetarian and vegan food & photography from a tiny Berlin kitchen and beyond

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

