donuts-in-sugardoughblueberry-yoghurtdonuts-up-close-and-personal

Doughnuts or donuts. They come in rings or bun form, filled with cream or jam, or glazed with all sorts of icing. They can be sticky with sprinkles or simply sugar coated and get all up in your grill. Whichever way you have them, doughnuts are damn good.

These little deep-fried balls/rings of goodness are not something that I’ve ever eaten on a regular basis throughout my entire life, and I wonder if this is why I have a bit of a secret/not so secret thing for them. I mean a slice of cake is always a fantastic addition to my day, but I don’t feel a particular connection like I do with donuts. Yes, I do realise I’m that girl who has a relationship with doughnuts. Kinda weird… let’s move on.

I guess it boils down to the fact that donuts always seemed like a naughty treat growing up. Birthdays/tea time/Christmas/parties always involved cake, but doughnuts oh no, they were reserved for midnight fridge forages when my dad had sneakily brought back a box that my mum didn’t know about. Or when my grandpa would go behind my grandma’s back and buy me one as a treat. Nice guys.

Then I experienced some kind of revelation: I’m 25 and can eat doughnuts whenever I want, how I want (in PJs in front of the TV, preferably) and most importantly, as often as I want. Hell yeah I can. Adulthood tastes mighty fine I tell ya. So grab a bowl, knead some dough, fry these bad boys up and roll them in sugar… it’s doughnut time.

 

NB: check me out being all hip with my fancy typography telling you what you already know they are.

Blueberry Yoghurt Donuts

Makes 10 donuts

Dough:
7g fast acting yeast
1 tablespoon and 1/2 teaspoon caster sugar
150ml whole milk, warmed
225g plain flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
50g butter, melted
1 large egg, lightly beaten

Extras:
Vegetable oil for frying, around 400ml
4 tablespoons caster sugar to roll the donuts in

Filling:
2 tablespoons thick, strained Greek yoghurt
2 tablespoons blueberry conserve or jam

Add the yeast and a half teaspoon of sugar to two tablespoons of the warmed milk, stir and set aside for 15 minutes or until frothy.

Sift together the flour and salt and stir in a tablespoon of sugar. Make a well in the centre and pour in the rest of the milk, the yeast mixture, melted butter and the beaten egg.

Use a fork to bring the dough together then tip it out onto a floured surface and knead for around 5 minutes or until the dough feels springy.

Place the dough in a lightly oiled and floured bowl, cover with clingfilm and leave to rise in a warm place for around 2-2.5 hours until it has doubled in size.

Once risen, punch down the dough then knead it for a few minutes on a lightly floured surface and divide it into 10 balls. Cover the balls with a clean dish towel and leave to rise for a further 30 minutes.

Heat the vegetable oil in a saucepan until it is hot enough that a small piece of bread will sizzle and turn golden within 30 seconds. Carefully add the dough balls into the hot oil in batches of 2 or 3. Cook for around 3 minutes, then flip over and cook the other side for a further minute or two. Remove from the hot oil with a slotted spoon and leave to drain on kitchen paper.

Once cooled slightly, roll the donuts in caster sugar until modestly coated.

To make the filling, mix together the yoghurt and jam. Fill the donuts by making a small hole using a knife, then spoon (I use a teeny condiment spoon) the mixture inside.

Serve immediately and eat on the day. Welcome to yumtown, population you and 10 donuts.

Recipe adapted from here

7 thoughts on “Blueberry Yoghurt Doughnuts

  1. Aren’t homemade doughnuts divine? Yours look scrumptious. I remember my mother making a non yeasted Italian version called Fritelli when I was growing up. So delicious on a cold winter’s afternoon. Thanks for the memories.

    1. Gabriella says:

      Thank you! Ohhh don’t get me started on frittelli! I had some when I was in Liguria in May… absolutely incredible.

  2. I don’t think I have ever seen such a pretty post about doughnuts/donuts πŸ˜› These have to go on my ‘must bake’ list!

    1. Gabriella says:

      Thank you! Must warn you they are very addictive!! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

The Festivist

... because the world is a place worth celebrating

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegetarian and vegan food & photography from a tiny Berlin kitchen and beyond

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

