lazy chicken and soba salad

Ok. I’m jumping on the bandwagon. The bandwagon of Brits and Londoners complaining about the particularly cruel and lengthy winter we’re experiencing. The joke is no longer funny. The lack of sunshine and warmth has not only sucked the joy out of my life but I’m pretty sure I’m suffering from a vitamin D deficiency as well as hating anyone from anywhere that is experiencing spring.

Aside from my irrational hatred for others and lack of colour I have never been so lazy. I don’t remember the last time I did any strenuous exercise and I drag myself out of bed at the last minute before work, often leaving completely disheveled, one eye open with mismatching socks. I don’t want to cook, clean, read, write, I’m not even joking when I say that I sometimes feel so lazy that even watching TV seems too exhausting. Seriously!

So, if you’re feeling lazy like me this chicken and soba salad is perfect for you. Ready in 10 minutes this makes a good family sized amount, and stores well in the fridge for a quick lunch or dinner when you’re struggling to change TV channels let alone even begin to think about cooking something to eat. Sorted.

Lazy Chicken and Soba Salad

Serves 4

250g soba noodles
2 large carrots, peeled or shredded as you prefer
2-3 spring onions, roughly chopped
150g grilled chicken, sliced or torn into smallish pieces
Pinch of dried chilli flakes
1 tablespoon sesame seeds

For the tahini dressing:

2 tablespoons of ume plum vinegar
1 tablespoon of dark soy
1 tablespoon brown rice vinegar
2 tablespoons tahini

Cook the soba noodles according to packet instructions. Rinse with cold water and drain. Toss with the carrot, spring onions, chilli flakes and sesame seeds.

To make the dressing add together tahini, brown rice vinegar, soy and ume plum and mix well. Pour over the noodles, toss to coat and season to taste. Serve topped with chicken and a sprinkle of sesame seeds.

2 thoughts on “Lazy Chicken and Soba Salad

  1. zoealexis says:

    It’s only morning here, but somehow I still feel that this is just what I need! Tahini, sesame, noodles. Delicious. Sorry about your long winter! šŸ˜¦

    1. Gabriella says:

      Thank you.. luckily now it seems to be drawing to a close! Someone must have heard my whining šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

Well Placed

journeys to the world's most spectacular destinations

A Travelling Epicure

A food, wine and travel scrapbook

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

A Girls Got to Eat... & Drink!

Food with a View

Vegan & vegetarian food and photography from urban nature and a small Berlin studio

Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

~Discovery of Food and Beer

